HUD-Assisted Residents in Hidalgo, Cameron and Jim Wells Counties May be Eligible for More Aid


AUSTIN, Texas – (RealEstateRama) — Survivors in Hidalgo, Cameron or Jim Wells County that were impacted by the recent severe storms and flooding and were receiving rental assistance from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) prior to the disaster, may be eligible for disaster assistance from FEMA.

When a HUD-assisted resident’s home becomes unlivable, HUD stops paying rental assistance for that residence. The survivor may then apply for FEMA disaster assistance.

Eligible survivors include those who were:

  • Living in HUD-assisted public housing.
  • Living in a privately owned apartment that provides rental assistance from HUD.
  • Living in a private home using a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher from a housing authority.

HUD-assistance survivors may be eligible for:

  • Temporary assistance to pay for a place to live.
  • Grants to replace essential contents—such as clothing and essential household items—and medical, dental and burial expenses.

Those who have HUD rental assistance may receive FEMA help to pay for a place to live until:

  • They relocate back to public housing.
  • They relocate back to the private housing that provides HUD assistance.
  • They sign a lease with a private property owner using a Section 8 voucher.

When the survivor moves back into a HUD-assisted residence, or signs a new lease for rental housing under the Section 8 program, HUD assistance resumes. At that point, the survivor may no longer receive FEMA assistance. Federal law prevents FEMA from duplicating benefits provided by another agency.

Survivors can register for FEMA assistance through Tuesday, Sept. 4, 2018, online at, or may call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585Those who use 711 Relay or Video Relay Services may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Survivors may also visit a disaster recovery center to apply for assistance (find a disaster recovery center at


On March 1, 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The primary mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the Nation from all hazards, including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters, by leading and supporting the Nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation


1 (800) 621-FEMA (3362)

Previous articleCulberson Amendment to Repeal FEMA Rental Assistance Rule Adopted
Next articleHouse Passes Conaway’s George W. Bush Childhood Home Act