Four Additional Texas Counties May Now Apply for Disaster Assistance


AUSTIN, Texas – (RealEstateRama) — At the request of the state of Texas, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has added Henderson, Limestone, Shelby and Tyler to the federal disaster declaration of March 19. They join the nine counties already approved for both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance: Erath, Gregg, Harrison, Hood, Jasper, Marion, Newton, Orange and Parker.

Texans who suffered damage or losses as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that occurred March 7-29, are encouraged to apply for assistance. Disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs, as well as other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses.

Those who had flood or storm damage should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but under-insured applicants may be eligible for help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Survivors can apply online at or by phone at 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free numbers are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available for eligible survivors. SBA helps businesses of all sizes (including landlords), private non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. Disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries.

For more information, survivors may contact SBA Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice (at) sba (dot) gov, or visiting the SBA

website at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339.

The 13 designated counties are also eligible for Public Assistance (Categories A and B). The Public Assistance program reimburses state and local governments and certain private non-profit

organizations, such as school districts, 75 percent of disaster-related expenses to help Texas communities recover. The cost of debris removal and emergency protective services, such as police overtime for extra work caused from responding to the disaster, may be eligible for reimbursement.

For more information on Texas recovery, visit the disaster web page at,Twitter at and the Texas Division of Emergency Management website, Visit for publications and reference material on rebuilding and repairing safer and stronger.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. 


On March 1, 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The primary mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the Nation from all hazards, including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters, by leading and supporting the Nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation


1 (800) 621-FEMA (3362)

Previous articleCongresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson Joins Bipartisan Group of Members of Congress to File Amicus Brief In Support of President Obama’s Clean Power Plan
Next articleTwo Federal District Courts in Texas Rule MERS Has Authority to Assign Deed of Trust